2021 OCC-AOSA Elections

Just when you thought you had your fill of elections!  The by-laws of the Orange County Chapter of American Orff-Schulwerk Association call for two-year staggered terms for executive board members.  Continuing in their positions until 06/30/2022 are:

Executive Vice President Lorie Higgins
Treasurer Mary Alonso Dagani
VP Membership Tim Johns

For the term beginning 07/01/2021 thru 06/30/2023, the positions of President, Secretary, and VP Programs are up for election.  The Nominating Committee (Maurice Freleaux, Noelle Nielsen, and David James) recommends the following slate of officers:

President Janelle Forney
Secretary Rochelle “Rocky” Brown
VP Programs Jeff Palmer

We will have a vote of the membership at the Chapter Share Workshop on March 6, 2021.

Janelle teaches ETK – 6th grade General Music in the Creative Network for LAUSD and has been a member of OCC-AOSA since 2016.  She has been a board-member-at-large for the last two years.  While this last year has brought many of us into the 21st century rather abruptly – some kicking and screaming – Janelle is a native and speaks the language fluently.  She has been instrumental in guiding many facets of OCC-AOSA as we navigate many changes these last twelve months.

Rocky teaches at TVT in Irvine, a private Jewish Day School. She has been an ever-present face of OCC-AOSA for 24 years, coincidently the same number of years that she has been on the board.  Rocky has had many board positions, including a board-member-at-large, Programs VP, and most recently, acting Secretary.

Jeff is the Music Director at El Sol Santa Ana Science and Arts Academy, teaching Vocal/General and Instrumental Music.  He has been a member of OCC-AOSA since 2005, served on the board of directors as a member at-large, and has been our Programs VP since 2017.